ITS 3250 - Securing Systems

Security Strategies Wherever We Can Find Some...
Lesson 11

This lesson introduces new topics, having despaired about the contents of texts. 

Concepts:

Where do you go when you want to know what's going on in technology?

Take a look at some of the sites mentioned by readers on Quora.
(Links are available on their page.)

News Aggregators

Etechexplorer - Technology and Android- http://www.etechexplorer.com/
Techmeme - http://www.techmeme.com (aggregator with human editing)
Slashdot - http://slashdot.org/ (aggregator with human editing)
News Vally https://newsvally.com/ (rss feed aggregator)
YC Hacker News - http://news.ycombinator.com (aggregator with voting)
Hacker News - http://hackernews.org/ (rss feed aggregator)
Tech News - Tech News - Trending Technology and Digital Marketing News https://www.reddit.com/r/technews/

News Sources

Technowize - https://www.technowize.com/
Ars Technica - http://arstechnica.com/
CNET - http://www.cnet.com/ ( -ZDNet: http://www.zdnet.com/ )
Digital Trends - http://www.digitaltrends.com
Engadget - http://www.engadget.com/
GigaOM - http://gigaom.com/
Gizmodo - http://gizmodo.com/
Mashable - http://mashable.com/
ReadWrite - http://www.readwrite.com
The Next Web - http://thenextweb.com/
The Verge - http://www.theverge.com/
TechCrunch - http://techcrunch.com/
TechRadar - http://www.techradar.com/
TWiT.tv - strives to be CNN of tech http://TWiT.tv
Valleywag - http://valleywag.gawker.com/
Wired - http://www.wired.com/
Techvoize - Trending Technology and Startup News - Techvoize does not seem to have a definitive presense, but it appears on Twitter and Facebook.
CitizenTekk - Tech News Headlines and Startup Gadgets http://www.citizentekk.com/
Open Electronics news - Open Electronics https://www.open-electronics.org/

Several students suggested sites:

https://techtalk.gfi.com/the-ultimate-network-security-checklist/

http://www.computerweekly.com/tip/Network-security-101-Default-router-settings-network-hardening

https://www.reddit.com/r/netsec/

http://www.thehackernews.com/

I've told you several times about Krebs on Security.

  • What do you look for in a tech news site or source?
  • What makes it good?
  • What makes it a loser that you never go back to?
  • If you don't have criteria like these about what you read, what do you have?

 

Assignments

  • Explore at least three of the sites above that are live.
  • Rate them on reasonable criteria that you establish. (And tell me what the criteria are!)
  • Write up a review as Paper 6 for this class.
  • Make some observations about your findings in the paper, don't just give ratings that don't help those who read your recommendations.